Security Exception

Feb 24, 2009 at 12:25 PM
Edited Feb 24, 2009 at 12:25 PM
I have used the XmlProvider for my website to control membership and roles.  Recently, I completed a profile viewing and updating page.  It works fine in VS 2008 but when uploaded to the server, a security exception error is generated.  Is this natural?  Is there anyway around it (my host refuses to up the trust level of any hosted apps)?

Thanks in advance.

CapnAhab
Feb 25, 2009 at 7:17 AM
I don't think this is directly related to ASP.NET XmlProviders.
However, you probably have to add in your project's AssemblyInfo.cs the attribute AllowPartiallyTrustedCallers like this:

[assembly: AllowPartiallyTrustedCallers]

Regards
Feb 25, 2009 at 1:35 PM
Thanks for responding so quickly, but I'm not 100% sure I know what to do here.  First off, I only use VB - I'm not very good at all with C!

My (limited) understanding is that if I use an AssemblyInfo.vb does that not mean I have to precompile my website before deployment?  I've never done that before - I have always just uploaded *normal* files to the server.

Also, is [assembly: AllowPartiallyTrustedCallers] the same as <Assembly: System.Security.AllowPartiallyTrustedCallers()> .  That is the only way VS would accept the input as valid.

Lastly, was I correct to just copy Artem.XmlProviders.dll and Artem.XmlProviders.pdb into the /bin folder or should I have added something in a .config file somewhere etc.?
Like I said - it works fine on my development PC, just not on the server, so I thought I had done everything correctly. 
BTW - thank you so much from everyone who uses these providers for writing them.

Thanks again,

CapnAhab
Jun 2, 2010 at 11:12 PM